Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary Meeting, Full Council
Tuesday, 31st October, 2017 6.00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber - Council Offices. View directions

Contact: Democratic Services  Tel: (0116) 257 2643 Email:

Note: Allocation of Vacant Seats on Committees (Political Balance Following By-Election) 

No. Item


Calling to Order of the Meeting

The meeting of the Council will be called to order to receive Her Worship The Mayor and Deputy Mayor.


The meeting of the Council was called to order to receive Her Worship The Mayor and Deputy Mayor.


Apologies for Absence


An apology for absence was received from Councillors Miss A R Bond, Mrs K M Chalk, Miss M V Chamberlain, M L Darr, R E Fahey, Mrs H E Loydall, R E R Morris and Mrs S B Morris.


Declarations of Interest

Members are reminded that any declaration of interest should be made having regard to the Members’ Code of Conduct. In particular, Members must make clear the nature of the interest and whether it is 'pecuniary' or ‘non-pecuniary'.




Allocation of Vacant Seats on Committees (Political Balance Following By-Election) DOCX 78 KB

Additional documents:


The Council gave consideration to the report and appendices (at pages 1 - 7) as delivered and summarised by the Senior Democratic Services Officer / Legal Officer which should be read together with these minutes as a composite document.


The Leader of the Council congratulated Councillor Mrs L Kaufman on her return to her seat following her successful election on 21 September as Member for the Oadby Uplands Ward and expressed his full confidence in her and her proven ability and experience.


It was moved by the Leader of the Council, seconded by Councillor G A Boulter and




(i)       The changes to the Council’s proportionality arrangements (as set out at Appendix A of the report) be approved; and

(ii)     The following amendments and appointments to the memberships of those affected Committees and the Members to serve thereon (as set out at Appendix B of the report) be made, accordingly:


(a)     Councillor Mrs L Kaufman be appointed to the Policy, Finance and Development Committee,  the Development Control Committee and the Appeals Panel; and

(b)     Councillor R F Eaton be appointed to the Service Delivery Committee.